top of page
  • Writer's pictureWill Weise

Best New Songs of July (So Far)

In Da Getto- J Balvin & Skrillex

What do you get when you cross the reggaeton of J Balvin and Skrillex's insane capabilities as a producer and master sampler? A certified banger, that's what! This one's got a lot of potential to become extremely popular, not even just because of the artists' names, but because the Latin pop and moombahton combo is sure to get people moving. I, also, just love the fact that Skrillex is actively making music again.


Don't Be Afraid- Diplo, Damian Lazarus, and Jungle

Alright, so I'm not normally the biggest Diplo fan, but as one of my friends put it, "He releases so much music, that some of it has to be good right?" This one is perfection and oozes an electro-soul feel, but that shouldn't be a surprise as anything Jiungle touches turns to gold and they have been on fire this year preparing for the release of their third album, Loving in Stereo, next month and all the singles have been heat. This one is not on the tracklist for the album, but don't let this one fly under your radar.


Overgrown- Little Lungs

This Baltimore indie band just released their EP, Better in Blue, on July 2nd and this was the standout track for me. Leena Rhodes' voice has a powerful, mature delivery that's balanced with softness. I specifically love the last minute and fifteen seconds of the song when the instrumental starts speeding up and building with the drums standing out in the last 30 seconds of the song. This is a band to watch for sure. I, also, recently added this to my Morning Coffee Playlist.


Keep on Moving- Louis the Child with NEZ and Theophilus London

I like Louis the Child pretty much across the board because they collaborate with a diverse array of artists and always seem to make it work; future bass with just the right amount of pop. Theophilus London is also a wonderful addition rapping the whole second verse. You may know him from his previous Tame Impala collaborations, "Only You" and "Whiplash" which are both favorites of mine from the past few years.


Starlight- Yola

My girlfriend discovered Yola last year through her cover of Elton John's "Goodbye Yellowbrick Road" and showed her to me and we both have been hooked ever since. The British soul singer deserves every bit of praise with one of the most impactful voices in music right now. The song's intro reminds me a lot of Marcus King's "One Day She's Here" which now has me trying to manifest a collaboration, but I'm not sure the world could handle that soul and power. Yola's new album Stand for Myself is out July 30th and I can't wait.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page